Personal tools
EServer » MRDS Home » Awards » MRDS Publication and Presentation Awards
Document Actions

MRDS Publication and Presentation Awards

by admin last modified 2015-11-02 01:20

Annual awards given to recognize achievement in publication, conference presentation, and archives research in the field of early drama studies.


Announcing the Medieval and Renaissance Drama Society Awards

  • The David Bevington Award for Best New Book in Early Drama Studies

$500 and two years membership in MRDS

  • The Martin Stevens Award for Best New Essay in Early Drama Studies

$250 and one year membership in MRDS

$250 and one year membership in MRDS

  • The Alexandra Johnston Award for Best New Conference Paper in Early Drama Studies by a Graduate Student 

$250 and one year membership in MRDS


Entry Information


February 1, 2016.


All MRDS members and non-members.


The Judges: 

Each category of submissions is judged by committees made up of members of the MRDS Executive Council.



For the Palmer and Stevens Awards, please send the published article as an attachment to an email addressed to The committee will consider any essay published within 18 months of the deadline and judged by the committee to be of outstanding quality. Qualifying essays published in a collection may be submitted for the Stevens and Palmer Awards.
For the Bevington Award, please send one hard copy of the book (plus a copy in digital form if you like). An author unable to supply a hard copy, may submit the book in digital form only, though hard copy is preferred. The committee will consider any book of high quality published within the last 18 months. Publishers: please limit submissions for the Bevington to two books per year. NOTE: Edited collections and Shakespearean studies are not eligible for the Bevington Award.
For the Johnston Award, papers should not exceed 5,000 words, excluding notes, and should include the name and date of the conference at which the paper was delivered, and the presenter's name, the title of the paper, and a contact number or email. We encourage graduate students to seek out a mentor to review their work before submission. MRDS members are happy to serve as mentors.

Please direct all submissions to:

Jim Stokes
3275 Soo Marie Avenue
Stevens Point, WI


Announcement of Award Winners

Awards announcement and presentation will take place during the annual MRDS business meeting in May 2016, at the 51st International Congress on Medieval Studies, Western Michigan University, Kalamazoo, MI.


Award Winners